Delphine Gauthier-Guiche

Ich bin Delphine Gauthier-Guiche
Willkommen auf meiner Website!
Entdecken Sie mein Werk…

Infos

Aktuelles Werk : « Robes de ciment » (Zementkleider)

20 ausgewählte Stellen eines schönen Gedichts werden in der Gestalt von Zeichnungen oder Basreliefs illustriert. Diese 20 Bilder werden als Musikpartituren für Horn Solo, Stimme und Körperbewegungen dienen. Ich sollte noch die Spielregeln dieser untypischen Noten festlegen. Das Schlussobjekt wird

im Atelier

bodies (black&white)

In der Serie bodies (black&white) – Körper (schwarz&weiß) – sind ein paar Aktskizzen gesammelt, die mit Kohle oder Bleistift entstanden.

Die zeichnende Hand folgt dem kontinuierlichen Hin-und-Her der Augen und wiedergibt die verschiedenen Hautgeweben durch Bewegungen, deren Gewicht und Geschwindigkeit modulieren. Es handelt sich nicht um eine photographische Abbildung des Models, sondern um Notizen über Sinnesempfindungen.

7 Ciels

7 Ciels (7 Himmel) ist eine Serie von Postkarten, die die Aussicht darstellen, die sich mir erbot, als ich in den Jahren 1999-2000 im 16. Stockwerk eines Gebäudes des Stadtteiles La Défense lebte. Dieser nahe Pariser Vorort war in der Zeit noch eine riesige Baustelle. Ich war fasziniert von der Intensität der Himmelsfarben – ein ästhetischer Effekt der Luftverschmutzung – und auch von der  lyrischen Note, die von dieser urbanen Landschaft rund um meiner Wohnung ausströmte: Kräne, Fabrik, unfertige Buildings, Strassen… das Ganze mit apokalyptischen rosa-roten Sonnenuntergängen gekrönt, oder in melancholische Wolken gehüllt.

Wir entschieden, meine Freundin und Dichterin Violaine Guillerm und ich, ein Büchlein zu entwickeln. Jeder der 7 gemalten Himmeln bekam einen Titel und einen kurzen Text, verfasst in der Art, wie man auf der Rückseite einer Postkarte ein paar schnelle Wörter schreibt.

Das Büchlein wurde nie herausgegeben.

Jedes Bild hat die übliche Postkartengrösse, DIN A6 = 10,5cm x 14,8cm. Die verwendete Technik ist eine Mischung aus Tusche, Pastellkreide und Collage.

Album du rêve

Album du Rêve (Album des Traums) wurde aus Abschweifungen im Bezug zu Begierde, Distanz, Einsamkeit und verstreichender Zeit geboren. Ich beschreibe hier einen ziemlich melancholischen Moment: wenn man seine Erinnerungen ohne nichts zu erwarten zerbröselt, aber als in diesem Moment ein Traum Gestalt annimmt. Die Titeln der Bilder geben direkte Auskunft über den allgemeinen Inhalt des Albums: «rêve» (Traum), «habitation de l’attente» (Behausung der Erwartung), «ô solitude!» (ach! Einsamkeit!), «à propos d’amour» (über Liebe). Ich hätte «Quadriptyque de l’Oisiveté», «Ditpyque-Cantique» und das Triptychon «Wroclaw 0808» dran anschließen sollen, aber ich bevorzugte, diese drei Einheiten zu isolieren, um ihre Entstehung besser zu detaillieren. Man kann die Skizzen zu den Leinwänden des «Album des Traums» in der Rubrik «Werke auf Papier» finden —> siehe «exercices préparatoires au Rêve» und «solitude/distance», sowie in der Rubrik «Poesie und Musik» —> siehe «Amour».

Von den 4 hier dargestellten Bildern entstand nur «habitation de l’attente» mit Acryl. Ich malte die anderen mit Öl auf Leinwand.

Vendée

La Vendée, auch «Côte de Lumière » genannt: das ist dort, wo meine Eltern wohnen  und, wo ich regelmässig in den Urlaub fahre. Auf jedem Besuch gehe ich am Ozean entlang spazieren und bin unermüdlich von den gleichen Ecken begeistert. 2012 bekam ich zu meinem Geburtstag eine riesige Box mit Pastellkreiden. Es gab darin um die 200 Farben! Diesen Schatz nutzend, fing ich sofort an, das Licht, die Felsen, den Strand, den Himmel, das Meer … zu zeichnen. Bald hat sich eine Art Ritual eingeführt, in dem ich versuche, mindestens ein Bild pro Woche zu schaffen, von selber Grösse und selber Technik. Die Pastellkreiden sind zu diesem « Freizeit-Album » das Basis Material geworden. Ich kombiniere sie mit Aquarell, Tusche, Stift und Acryl, erziele oft durch Collage einen haptischen Effekt. Jedes Bild wird auf einem Blatt dicken Papiers realisiert, 24x32cm groß.

panneaux

Das 200x100cm Format eignet sich zu linearen Panoramaforschungen. Ich sammelte hier zwei Leinwände, die miteinander genau diese Besetzung des Raumes in der Breite gemeinsam haben. Auf der ersten Leinwand steht ein promenade (Spaziergang), eine Reihe touristischen Details, zwischen denen der Blick wandert. Auf der zweiten Leinwand habe ich eine mur (Mauer) unter verschiedenen Aspekten dargestellt: es gibt die Trennwand, die isoliert, schützt oder ein Hindernis bildet, es gibt auch die Mauer, die man wie eine wichtige Lebenserfahrung durchläuft, die Mauer, die bekritzelt wird, die zerfallene Mauer, wo Unkraut wächst…

Ich malte beide panneaux (Schilder) mit einer Mischung aus Collage, Acryl und Pastellfarben.

 

petits dessins pour rire

In meiner Handtasche trage ich immer ein kleines Heft mit weissen Blättern, auf welchen ich mich vergnüge, mit Bleistift und Buntstiften zu kritzeln. Meine Muster sind oft Tiere (mit einer Vorliebe für Vögel) sowie manchmal Landschaften. Ich erledige diese Übungen dilettantisch, von manchen exotischen Namen entzückt, nun mit dem Bemühen, meine traditionelle Zeichentechnik auf einer spielerischen Art zu verbessern. Petits dessins pour rire (kleine Skizzen aus Spaß) sind ausgewählte Seiten aus meinen sukzessiven Heftchen.

35

über

Delphine Gauthier-Guiche, 

Musikerin (Hornistin) und bildende Künstlerin.

Geboren 1975 in Evreux (Frankreich), lernt sie zunächst das Klavier spielen. Sie entdeckt später das Horn und macht bald aus ihm ihr Hauptinstrument. Parallel zu einem Jurastudium an der Pariser Universität, erhält sie in den Konservatorien von St-Maur-des-Fossés, Paris und Boulogne-Billancourt jeweils einen Ersten Preis im Fach Kammermusik, Naturhorn und chromatisches Horn. Sie ergänzt ihre Ausbildung an der Freiburger Musikhochschule (2001-2004 Prof. B. Schneider) und an der Schola Cantorum Basiliensis (2008-2009 Prof. Th. Müller). In Deutschland vertraut sie sich mit dem Repertoire des XX. und XXI. Jahrhunderts und tritt ins Ensemble Aventure ( www.ensemble-aventure.de ) als festes Mitglied ein. Freischaffende Musikerin, seit etwa 15 Jahren in Freiburg ansässig, reist sie meistens durch Europa und arbeitet als Orchestermusikerin, nun vor allem auch als Kammermusikerin und Solistin, der musikalischen Performance entschlossen zugewendet.

Neben dieser musikalischen Tätigkeit, widmet sich DGG seit vielen Jahren einer Forschung im Bereich der Malerei. Im Kontakt zu anderen Künstlern hat sie ein Können erworben, das ihr ermöglicht, den zweiten Pol ihrer künstlerischen Beschäftigung zu gestalten. In einer tiefen Kenntnis der Musik fest verankert, entwirft ihre Methode doppeldeutige Brücken zwischen Künsten und Erfahrungen. Einer Überlegung über die Bühnenwirkung des Konzertes sowie einer Analyse der Musik als Sprache ausgehend, baut sich die musikalische Interpretation DGGs nicht selten in einem Umweg durch die Malerei auf. Ebenso bildet ihre musikalische Wahrnehmung der erforschten Formen und Strukturen die Grundlage für ihr plastisches Werk. Schließlich vertieft in ihr die Alltagspraxis der französischen, deutschen, englischen und spanischen Sprachen eine literarische Intuition, die die Übung der Übersetzung einem musikalischen Arrangement gleichstellt und sie veranlasst, Gedichte zu illustrieren, wie sie sie vertonen würde.

So wird aus diesen ganzen Ausdrucksmitteln ein klares Zusammenfließen der Gedanken ersichtlich.

Sie haben über DGGs Werk geschrieben...

Delphine Gauthier-Guiche

I am Delphine Gauthier-Guiche
Welcome to my website!
Have a look at my work…

News

Work in progress: “Robes de Ciment” (Cement Dresses)

20 selected passages of a beautiful poem are  to be illustrated in the form of drawings or bas-reliefs. These 20 pictures shall serve as a music score for solo horn, voice and body actions. I have to fix the rules

in the Studio

bodies (black&white)

In the set bodies (black&white),  we can find sketches of naked bodies, using charcoal or lead.

The drawing hand follows the continual coming and going of the eyes in a gesture that alters weight and speed depending on the different grains of the skin. The point is, rather than making a photographic picture of the model, to note sensations down.

7 Ciels

7 Ciels (7 Skies) is a series of postcards depicting the view I could contemplate from my window when I was living on the 16th floor of a high rise building of La Défense in Paris. This area was under construction at that time (1999-2000). The intense colors of the sky – due to pollution – and the lyrical quality of that urban landscape of cranes, factories, unfinished buildings, steep windswept streets, crowned by apocalyptical red-pink sunsets or enshrouded in melancholy clouds, were a source of endless fascination to me.

My friend, poet Violaine Guillerm, and I decided to collect « 7 skies » into a booklet, give titles to them, and write short texts, as you would find on the back of postcards. It remains unpublished.

Each picture is a mixed media painting – ink, soft pastels, watercolor, and collage on paper – in the size of usual postcards (A6 = 10,5cm x 14,8cm).

Rêve
Album du Rêve
Rêve

Album du Rêve (Album of the Dream) resulted from various digressions connected with desire, distance, solitude and passing time. I’m describing here a rather melancholy moment: when, by crumbling up your memories though expecting nothing, a dream is taking shape. The pictures’ titles give direct information about the general contents of the album: «rêve» (dream), «habitation de l’attente» (inhabiting the wait), «ô solitude!», «à propos d’amour» (about love). I should have linked «Quadriptyque de l’Oisiveté», «Diptyque-Cantique» and the triptych «Wroclaw 0808» to the Album of the Dream. I preferred isolating these three ensembles in order to better detail their genesis. The sketches that I made previously to the canvases can be found in section «work on paper» —> «exercices préparatoires au Rêve» and «solitude/distance» so as in section «poetry and music» —> «Amour».

Among the 4 pictures presented here, I only painted «habitation de l’attente» with acrylics. I used for the others oil on canvas.

Vendée

La Vendée, also known as Côte de Lumière or Coast of Light, is where I regularly go on vacation. My parents live there. Whenever I visit them, I spend hours by the ocean, enjoying the same places again and again.

In 2012, I received a huge pastel box for my birthday, a treasure of  200 colors! I immediately relished delving into them to draw the light, the sea, the sky, the beach and the rocks. I soon initiated a sort of holiday ritual: one picture a week, same place, same size. The pastels stay at my parents’. They have become a basis material of this “free-time-album”. I mix them with watercolors, inks, pencils and acrylics, and frequently resort to collage in order to create tactile effects. For each picture I use 24×32 cm sheets of thick paper.

Mur
panneaux
Mur

The 200x100cm format lends itself to certain panoramic and linear explorations. I gathered here two canvases whose common feature is precisely that occupation of space across the width. The first canvas depicts a promenade (stroll), or how the eye circulates through a series of touristic details. On the second canvas, I represented a mur (wall) under different aspects : there is the dividing wall that isolates, shelters or stands in the way, there is the wall that one goes through like a crucial experience of life, the wall that supports graffitis, the wall in ruins where weeds grow …

I painted both panneaux (panels) using a mix media technique with collage, acrylics and pastels.

petits dessins pour rire

I always carry in my handbag a small notebook with white sheets in which I have fun sketching with lead and color pencils. My models are often animals (with a predilection for birds) and sometimes landscapes. I do these exercises as a hobby, charmed by certain exotic names, and trying in a playful manner to better my traditional drawing technique. Petits dessins pour rire (small sketches for fun) are pages selected from my successive notebooks.

38

about

Delphine Gauthier-Guiche

Born in 1975 in Evreux, France, musician and plastic artist Delphine Gauthier-Guiche played the piano before discovering her passion for the horn. While pursuing law at the Parisian University Assas, she was awarded three first prizes for chamber music, the natural horn and the modern horn from the Conservatories of St-Maur-des-Fossés, Paris and Boulogne-Billancourt. She completed her education at the Freiburger Musikhochschule (2001-2004 , Prof. B. Schneider) and at the Schola Cantorum in Basel (2008-2009 Prof. Th. Müller). In Germany, Delphine Gauthier-Guiche specialized in repertory music from the XXth and XXIst centuries and became a regular member of the Ensemble Aventure (www.ensemble-aventure.de ). For the past 15 years, she has been based in Freiburg where her freelance work has been firmly oriented in musical performance. During this period,  she has primarily toured Europe as a chamber musician and a soloist; but at times she has also performed with the orchestra.

In addition to her musical activities, she has spent many years devoted to research in the visual arts. Contact with other artists has cross- pollinated her artistic endeavours. Stemming from a deep knowledge of music, her approach lays a foundation that bridges art and experience. Even though DGG ‘s musical interpretation takes the theatrics of the concert and an analysis of the music language as her departure point, she often makes a detour through painting where her perception of musical form and structure underlies her pictorial work. Finally, daily practice of French, German, English and Spanish has deepened her literary sensibilities, integrating translation exercise into musical arrangement and leading her to illustrate poems as she were scoring them to music. Thus emerges a convergence across a platform of musical and artistic expression that has largely defined her work.

they wrote about DGG's work...

Zachary Seely "My interest as a musician in DGG's art" read here

My interest as a musician is in how DGG’s art deals with the realm of time and identity. Each painting unfolds layers of compressed experiences, which are both intense and personal. For me, the artist is present in the materials. The compositions and techniques reveal the processes of both  the art-making and in the artist’s development of self-awareness. It is easy to imagine her  handling each piece with great care, while reacting to her own choices as the work evolves and informs her next decision. Her studio is transformed into a concert performance, where each musical gesture undergoes changes in pressure and amplitude, responding in real time to an inner chamber ensemble through her signification of shape and color. Her thoughts and feelings about life collide and disperse throughout her creative processes at different speeds in multi-dimensional directions. She combines the raw and mysterious through her honesty, control, and genuine imagination.

This inward journey is both solitary and communal. The confrontations in her life and art reflect one another through her choices of density. Her paintings include long periods of silence and tiny creaky noises in the detailed, imprecise boundaries of distorted shapes. The harmonies in her paintings span the entire register of human perception and put into question all the known sounds of the universe. Her willingness to explore these often dark and broken paths is admirable. Her portrayals of these experiences move through time, though partially hidden in collages of dissonant societies both ancient and contemporary. Her struggle becomes musical and vibrates timelessly to the reverberation of all human experience. Each work is a snapshot of human collision: a clash with nature, a search for one’s note in the harmony of life, youthful curiosity, and, though these works are non-linear, even conflicted eroticism.

As we move forward through today and tomorrow, her paintings will continue to resonate beyond time.

Zachary Seely